Privacy policy

Your privacy is very important to us at Many companies vow to not disclose your personal data without consent. At we go a step further. We believe that your data belongs to you. It is not ours to sell or distribute. We will enable you to sell access to your data, but we will never sell your data or give it to anyone without your explicit consent. We understand that the data we store is personal and that keeping it private is central to the relationship we share with you.

This Privacy Policy describes our practices regarding information collection and disclosure. If you have questions or complaints regarding our privacy policy or practices, please contact us at

What types of data are collected and stored

Information you provide when you create an account with

When you register with, we ask you for your name, an email address, a password and your payment details. Your email address will be used as your username. You can optionally provide demographic information such as education, occupation, gender, age and marital status. The optional information will help us to provide you with more accurate search services and will help us to direct data access requests from researchers if you desire but it is not necessary to provide this information to use our service.

Information collected by the app:

The app has the capacity to collect accelerometry, audio, GPS and image data. Accelerometry is collected continually whenever data collection is in progress. GPS, images and audio segments are recorded at intervals that are controlled either by movement, by time or by both. Data is transmitted in encrypted format to our servers and is stored securely. Audio information is can collected in two forms - audio features and raw audio. If collected in the audio features form it is not possible to reconstruct an audible recording. If you choose to collect raw audio, however, you will be able to listen to these clips. Note that laws regarding the recording of conversation without the consent vary by jurisdiction, so you should be aware of the relevant restrictions for your area before enabling the raw audio stream.

Information collected through IFTTT:

We provide a mechanism by which data can be collected using the If This Then That (IFTTT) service. Collecting data in this way requires the user to create a recipe that connects to our service. IFTTT allows the collection of many different kinds of information. You should refer to the IFTTT privacy policy if you intend to use this service. Data collected by IFTTT is sent to our service in encrypted form.

Information collected when you visit our website:

The IP addresses and cookies of the visitors to will be stored. You can opt out from accepting cookies. However, you may not be able to use all functionality of the website.

Mechanisms for protecting your privacy

Starting and stopping collection:

There are places and situations where you might not want to collect data. We have made it easy for you to turn data collection on and off. Tapping the large button on the PLAY tab of the app will stop data collection. Tapping it again will start data collection again. When the pause symbol is displayed no data is being collected.

Controlling what is collected:

Different data streams involve different privacy risks and different people feel comfortable retaining different kinds of data. We allow you to turn each data stream (accelerometry, GPS, images and audio) on or off. Under the SETTINGS tab you there are a set of switches that allow you to customize what is collected.

Reviewing before uploading:

Sometimes it is only apparent after the fact that it probably isn’t a good idea to keep some data. The app allows you to set a review period (see Days to Review under the SETTINGS tab). Data will not be uploaded until this review period has elapsed, giving you a chance to deleted it before it ever leaves your phone. Under the REVIEW tab, you will see a list of days for which you have data stored on the phone. Tapping on one of these shows a list of each hour for which data has been collected along with a Delete button. Tapping the button marks that data for deletion. The data will not be uploaded when marked for deletion. However, you have the option to restore the data before the review period is finished if you choose. If you do not restore the data before the review period elapses it will be permanently deleted. Data is only uploaded when your phone is charged to greater than 90% and has an WiFi connection.

Deletion through the website:

After data has been uploaded, you may delete it by logging in to the website, retrieving the events and then clicking on on the cross symbol. The event will be moved to a trash folder and can then be permanently deleted by clicking on the “Empty Trash” link.

Who may access your data other than yourself

We will not disclose your data to anyone other than you. Below are the exceptions to this statement:

When you agree to disclose data:

You can sell access to your data to external buyers through our data brokerage service. In all cases, you decide when, what, and to whom to disclose your data.

Internal use:

To improve our service, our research personnel may access your data in order to develop new algorithms or tune performance.

Third party service providers:

Certain types of lifelogging data may be disclosed to third-party service providers with your knowledge. For example, anonymized location data may be sent to Google Maps for the purpose of providing you with a map visualization.

When required by law:

We may also disclose your personal information if we are required to by law, such as to comply with a subpoena, or similar legal process; when we believe in good faith that disclosure is necessary to protect our rights, protect your safety or the safety of others.

Company restructuring:

If Unforgettable Technologies, LLC is involved in a merger, acquisition, or sale of all or a portion of its assets, you will be notified via email and/or a prominent notice on our web site of any change in ownership or uses of your personal information. When the privacy policy changes as a result of such restructuring, you will be given choices regarding your data. Even in such cases, we will not disclose your data without your consent.

Your rights to your data

In keeping with the principle that you own your data, you have a right to a copy your original data stored in our server at any time. If you choose to terminate the use of our service, we will comply with your request to permanently delete all of your lifelogging data from our servers.